top of page

Lady Elliot Island is magical.

Lady Elliot Island, oh my…

Spending four days on Lady Elliot Island, I have not only enjoyed myself like never before, but I have learned a tremendous amount of information presented by our tour guide, Dr. Tyrone Ridgway. I have written about The Great Barrier Reef previously on my blog but I will touch basis on it again and then discuss my real life experience with it.

Lady Elliot Island is one of the 600 sand islands that sits on the Great Barrier Reef. It is considered a green zone, which means that it must be preserved and protected and not altered. The Great Barrier Reef is about 2300 km long, basically the size of 70 million football fields. It is home to 3000 coral reefs, 1625 types of fish, and 133 varieties of sharks and rays. It is an ecosystem that works so beautifully but sadly, it’s in danger.

According to Dr. Tyrone, half of the coral reefs are being threatened by tourism, warming oceans, ocean acidification, fertilizer run off, turbidity, overfishing but prominently by coral bleaching, storms, and the crown of thorn starfish. As I said in my previous Great Barrier Reef blog, when water is too warm, corals will expel the algae (zooxanthellae) living in their tissues causing the coral to turn completely white. This is called coral bleaching. When a coral bleaches, it is not dead. Corals can survive a bleaching event, but they are under more stress and are subject to mortality. If they do die, it takes decades for species of corals to restore. Warm water is also causing storms and when they occur, corals are being destroyed and damaged. The storms also don’t help the corals recovery time. The crown of thorn starfish is consuming a lot of the corals as they are overpopulating. They are putting an end to home of many of the species- one example being a clownfish. Clownfish live on a specific coral titled, anemone, they eat away the pesticides that intrude the coral, while it provides housing for the clownfish. With the overpopulation of crown of thorns starfish, nemo wont have a home and neither will his friends.

The island taught me many things:

1. It’s possible to run a resort sustainably.

While on the island we stayed on its only living accommodation, Lady Elliot Island Eco Resort. Because it is a green zone, the resort finds a way to making life as sustainable as they can on the island. For example, ocean water is turned into fresh water for guests and residents, solar panels are used for electricity, and human waste is used as fertilizer for the plants on the island. Why can’t more resorts act as this one does? If only people cared as much as they did on this island about being sustainable, the world would be a better place.

2. Direct experiences with nature enhance your feelings for it.

Before this program started, I would have never known about the island, yet alone found myself on it one day. I would have never known what was truly occurring in the reef and I wouldn’t have such strong feelings towards it. Of course, I care about the land and care about climate change and how its affecting everything around us, but interacting with the species in real life, made me develop a profound connection with the reef. In a way, I got this attachment and I gained more sympathy for the species being affected. It really opened my mind, eyes and heart.

3. Being disconnected allowed me to immerse myself fully.

For the past four days, my phone usage was limited. No social media, and hardly any communication with my loved ones, I’m talking about 20 minutes within four days. This really allowed me to experience the island and just be there, fully present. I could observe and absorb everything that was occurring around my environment and me. I wouldn’t miss out on anything because I wasn’t busy looking at a screen and wondering what was going on in the Facebook world. I could breath in the air, take in the waves and admire the sunset. I’ve gone on social media fasts multiple times because I feel like that it distracts you from reality and alters so many experiences and relationships around you. The social media part wasn’t bad, as I went 4 months without it before the program started. It feels nice. Why do we have to worry about other people’s life? Why can’t we just live and enjoy our own? It was just harder cutting back communication with my loved ones, but I lived!

4. The Great Barrier Reef is so diverse and beautiful.

During the reef walk, which is when tides are low and you’re able to walk through the reefs, Dr. Tyrone showed us many of the species and within about five minutes of walking it, we had already seen various sea cucumbers, crabs, snails and starfish. It was mesmerizing! Snorkeling was 100 times better!

5. Corals are underestimated.

Dr. Tyrone stated, “Corals provide food livelihoods for more than 500 million people around the world. 25% of all marine life in our oceans lives on coral reefs. The areas provide billions of dollars to local economies through tourism and fishing. Coral reefs provide natural protection to towns, communities, and ports from storms, waves and open seas.” Wow! Who would have known, right?

Dr. Tyrone Ridgway

6. This was one of the most memorable birthdays I have ever had.

While on the island, my birthday took place. Wow, am I a lucky person, that’s a real way to celebrate a 21st birthday! I was a bit sick, I caught a cold because of the cold water but I didn’t let that get me down. I couldn’t believe I was on a remote island on my birthday. How many people get to say that? I did feel a wave of homesickness that day but the wonderful group I’m studying cheered me up. After watching the beautiful sunset, to top off my day, they sang me happy birthday at dinner! It was all so wonderful.

I urge you to check out Lady Elliot Island yourself if you ever get the chance and just take into consideration what is occurring in the reefs. It’d be devastating to just keep harming it they way we are and see it crumble. It’s more important than you think it is.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page